CINNAMON GRANOLA

Granola is a really easy to make if you have all the ingredients handy.  The cinnamon gives it a great flavor if you decide eat it as  bowl of cereal, which is the #1 way my daughter eats it, but I prefer it tossed on top of a bowl of berries for a quick snack or dessert.  

  • 1 cup sliced raw unsalted almonds 
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup – grade b
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In medium glass bowl mix together all the nuts.
  3. Add maple syrup and stir until nuts are coated; add cinnamon and blend until everything is coated.
  4. Spread mix onto baking sheet and sprinkle with sea salt.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes; using a metal spatula move the mixture around so it does not burn, cook another 5 minutes or until coconut is brown.
  6. Remove from oven and allow to cool before eating.

COMMENTS:  You can substitute with any type of nut you like, the key is to make sure it’s chopped and not bulky.

8 thoughts on “CINNAMON GRANOLA

  1. This is YUMMY! Both my husband and I love it. Thank you. I used almonds, pecans and macadamia nuts. Great for parfaits.
    🙂

  2. Pingback: Good Food in the Cold North - ayumi's journal - Page 4 | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page 4

    • I would use raw honey rather than maple syrup. Line a pan with parchment paper and press it all together. Use a butter knife to make cuts in it before baking so it doesn’t crack later. I’m gonna have to try that out.

  3. Thanks for replying so quickly. Unfortunately, I ‘m allergic to raw honey. Any other suggestions?
    We love this recipe. I’m so glad I found it. I’m trying to make it into a bar for traveling. 🙂

    • I wish I had a firm answer for you.
      So I’d start with a bit more syrup and pressing it all together, cutting it prior to baking.
      Now I have a project for the weekend.
      Please let me know what works. Ill post my findings and let you know.

Any thoughts?

