APPLE UPSIDE-DOWN PIE

I’m soooo weak!  It’s only day 3 of my 21 Day Sugar Detox and I’m already crafting up desserts…ugh!  I wont let a detox or 90 degree weather stop me from baking. I have issues! Here’s the thing, I LOVE PIE and all the recipes being posted already for Fall are driving me crazy and I feel completely left out. So, I suppose, out of jealousy and the lack of will power I decided it was PIE TIME.  

These little mini pies are made to be eaten in moderation, that means 1 a day….Good luck with that!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 c. almond flour, fine
  • 1 Tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 c. lard (or fat of your choice)
  • 2 large green apples (approx. 4 c. diced)
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon, ground
  • 1 tsp nutmeg, ground
  • 6 tsp. coconut oil (ghee or grass-fed butter)

PREPARATION:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 F
  2. Line 12 muffin tins
  3. In medium bowl, combine almond flour, coconut flour, salt and baking soda
  4. Add lard to the flour mixture and using your hands combine until it forms a big soft ball
  5. Place dough in the refrigerator while you prepare the apples
  6. Slice and dice apples, the thinner the better
Thinly slice apples

Thinly slice apples

7. In a bowl, combine apple bits, cinnamon and nutmeg and stir until apples are well coated with spices
8. Remove dough from refrigerator and divide into 12 small balls, placing 1 ball in each line muffin tin

Divide dough into 12 balls

Divide dough into 12 balls

9. Gently mold the dough into the muffin liner

Gently press dough into liners

Gently press dough into liners

10. Spoon apple mixture into the crust
11. Top each pie with 1/2 tsp. coconut oil
12. Bake for 20-25 minutes
13. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes
14. When ready to serve, flip the pie over onto a plate and add topping of your choice (coconut creme is my fav)

IMG_1717

Top with coconut creme, ice cream or caramel sauce. Choices are endless.

One click on this banner is a vote for me on TopMommyBlogs.com That's all you have to do.  CLICK ONCE! MAHALO!

One click on this banner is a vote for me on TopMommyBlogs.com
That’s all you have to do. CLICK ONCE! MAHALO!

5 thoughts on “APPLE UPSIDE-DOWN PIE

  1. These look great! I am actually working on an “almost paleo” version of something like these myself! We have food allergies so we are unable to use almond and coconut flours, so I have to cook with GF brown rice flour and oat flour (almost paleo!). I hope mine turn out as yummy looking as yours!! Happy cooking 🙂
    -Jenn

    • Cup4cup.com
      Cornstarch (hmmmm)
      White & brown rice flower
      Milk powder
      Tapioca flour
      Potato starch
      Xanthan gum
      Ok ok faaaaar from Paleo. I don’t have any digestion issues with grain and totally guilty of using this in a few GF treats. I don’t use for foods I eat everyday, just the rare occasional treat.
      Feel like I’m at confession 😉 LOL

      • LOL! Your secret’s safe with me 😉 — Its not too bad of a mix I guess, but we have allergies to Dairy, Nuts, Eggs so this would not work.
        Eating Paleo is a hard thing to do with so many allergies from a paleo-persons pantry being off limits but that is why I started the blog! To share my recipes with those in the same boat because I have had a fair amount of success (i think) so far.
        If you hear of any other great substitutions — for baking especially– please let me know!

Any thoughts?